My “Damn-It-I-Should-Go-No-Poo” Moment


***No pictures in this blog post. Blame my internet. YES YOU SUCK PTCL EVO WINGLE.***

I love beginning the blog on a good note 🙂

Hello Ladies.

Only ladies? Yes, Because this blog is not for the guys. So any male inhabitant of the world reading this blog, please read something else. I am sure I have tons of other “non girly” stuff for you.

So ladies, I have decided to go no poo. I have been thinking of going no poo for a long time, literally long time but never had the courage to go through “the transition” phase. I love having clean, bouncy and shiny hair all the time. I am guilty of being a shampoo addict. I shampoo and condition my hair EVERYDAY. 365 days in a year and I shampoo my hair 360 days. Those 5 days when I don’t shampoo are the days I am too sick to move from bed.

For those who are not aware of no poo method, holly shmolly, are you smurfing kidding me?

No poo method is a healthy way of washing hair without any chemicals or shampoo. Basically going natural. This requires a few months of transition phase where your hair will get adjusted to the new routine which means greasy grossy dull hair for a month or two until your hair fights back to being healthy, strong and bootiful, i mean beautiful.

Now that we have build the premise, let’s move on.

So why did my “no poo” idea come out as a strike of lightening?

I have been wanting to grow out my hair to very long hip length hair so I could get a final deep layer haircut. That was practically my dream haircut.

An year back I had bangs (forehead length) + layers (starting from the forehead bangs to my shoulder) + waist length hair. For the past one year, I waited, I waited and I waited until after 1 year and 3 months, my hair were fully grown. The shortest layer was somewhere around the waist and the longest was hip length.

This is what my hair looked like

My dream haircut aka long deep layers was finally going to happen.

I went to my favorite saloon and to my favorite hair stylist. I have been getting my haircut from her since past 5 years, only to find that she had taken leave for half the month.

I SHOULD HAVE HEAD BACK TO HOME.

But I didn’t.

I had a few family functions coming up and I needed this haircut so badly soooooooooooooooooooooo I thought to myself, It was time to let go. It was time to take a leap of faith into a new hair stylist and get a cut from her. She couldn’t be that bad you know.

I SHOULD HAVE KNOWN.

But I didn’t.

That was my mistake because I literally came home and cried. I do not know what she was thinking because I basically told her everything about my hair. I told her I was growing out my layers. I told her I LOVE MY HAIR. I told her I want to have a full volume long hair. She did everything that I told her not to.

DO NOT CUT MY HAIR SHORT  = SHE CUT MY LAST LENGTH TO WAIST LENGTH.

DO NOT GIVE ME HALF LAYERS = SHE GAVE ME HALF LAYERS STARTING FROM NOSE TO SHOULDER.

DO NOT REDUCE THE VOLUME = SHE LEFT ME WITH HALF HAIR AS SHORT AS SHOULDER.

My hairstyle basically at the moment is shoulder length hair at the sides. Leaving a horsetail of hair at the back till my waist. It is much like a mullet hairstyle.

DILEMMA STRICKEN, SHOCKED AND IN TEARS, I couldn’t even look myself in the mirror anymore. But tears wouldn’t bring my hair back. I had to do something. I knew I couldn’t do anything but wait another year but desperation took its toll. My brain was giving out smoke due to over heating.

Anyway. I had heard about Fenugreek soaked in water over night and applying the paste in the morning for an hour, helps hair grow faster and healthier. So right away, I took fenugreek seeds, crushed them into powder, soaked in water for the night and applied it in the morning.

My hair routine for 15 days was applying this paste in the morning for an hour and washing off with a shampoo. I admit, my hair were becoming healthier and I could tell by their weight but then it occurred to me that in an attempt to “care” my hair, I was damaging them with constant shampooing.

AND THEN IT HAPPENED.

IT ACTUALLY HAPPENED.

THAT MOMENT, THAT DAY, THAT BATH was the last day I shampooed my hair. It’s been 4 days without shampoo now and I will update to you about my no poo methods and routine when I get through the week.

So far, I am loving it.

Categories: No Poo Journey | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “My “Damn-It-I-Should-Go-No-Poo” Moment

  1. Pingback: 12 Days – No Poo Experience & Experiments. | Aisha's Scrapyard

Hey Wait!!! Won't You Leave A Comment? *Makes Requesting Puppy Dog Face*

