What Happens When Your Dr. Tells, “You Only Have 24 Hours To Live”


Hourglass In Hands - Time ticking Away

What happens when your doctor tell you that you only have 24 hours to live?

As soon as you hear from your doctors, the words “only 24 hours to live” your ears refuse to hear anything else. Your mind goes completely blank, your body freezes and your eyes stare upon the doctor who said these words. He is talking, trying to console you, trying to make it easy for you but nothing he says matters to you. 

You keep staring at his moving lips but you hear nothing.

Your mind is still repeating one statement over and again – only 24 hours to live,  only 24 hours to live,  only 24 hours to live,  only 24 hours to live,  only 24 hours to live,  only 24 hours to live…………………… 

After about half hour, your body slowly starts warming, your mind starts analyzing the situation and you start hearing everything again along with “only 24 hours to live” still echoing in your head, but only fainter. 

With trembling hands, you shake your doctor’s hand and walk out of the hospital. Walking with heavy steps, you find yourself sitting on a bench on a park wondering to yourself in panic, NOW WHAT? 

A million things rush into your mind. 

I should call my friend who I haven’t spoken to in 2 years. I must tell her that I have no hard feelings for her. I have forgotten everything that happened and I still think high of her.

I should finish that painting I started long back but forgot about due to all my office work, new projects, promotions etc.

I should confess to that guy on the opposite street that I did have feelings for him but I was too scared to tell him.

I should visit my Grandma and let her know that I am sorry for not being able to meet her even on her birthdays because I was too busy with work.

The list of  “things I should” keeps growing and you then you realize an even bigger truth. 

Whhaaaaaat?

An even bigger truth.

You must be kidding Aisha. What could be a bigger truth than the words “You have got only 24 hours to live?” 

But there is a bigger truth. And the bigger truth is, all these years you gave up on important things that YOU SHOULD HAVE, for the things that you thought were important. You gave up on things that could wait, for things that shouldn’t have waited. You gave up on things that mattered to you for things that wouldn’t matter in the end.

In that flick of a second, comes the realizing that you have actually wasted your entire life running behind money, work and bosses which kept you running away from love, friendship and your family.

And when you were at the last stage of your life, it wasn’t work or your boss that came to your mind, it was love and family.

Lucky for me, I don’t have to wait for the day when my doctor tells me that I have only 24 hours to live because everyday, I only get 24 hours to live and so do you. 

You don’t know if you are going to wake up next morning and you definitely don’t know if you are going to get another tomorrow for LIFE ISN’T CERTAIN BUT DEATH IS. 

You only have 24 hours to live, how do you choose to spend it? 

Categories: Blogs | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “What Happens When Your Dr. Tells, “You Only Have 24 Hours To Live”

  1. “…Lucky for me, I don’t have to wait for the day when my doctor tells me that I have only 24 hours to live because everyday, I only get 24 hours to live and so do you…”

    Yes, that’s a start — let’s hope it continues 🙂

  2. Butcherooni

    You only have 24 hours to live, how do you choose to spend it?

    I guess it’s good to have an emergency 24-Hour backup plan in case something like that happens, unless I haven’t done those things yet – would have to keep updating it xD I supposed I would spend most of my time with my family, make calls and have everyone meet me lol. I don’t want to have any regrets. Maybe even get married… or not, I’ll cross that, don’t want my wife becoming a widow now 😛 I think making memories would be my thing, moments that people will remember me by, while with or of me – so I’d buy gifts that hold some sentimental value. So that even in death everyone will keep a happy memory or something! They are so much of value and memories feed our feelings when we think about them.. other than that, I would just do “me stuff”, playing a game or doing something I’m always been afraid of but always wanted to dp etc.. if there’s time for that 😛

    • Wow so many things to do.

      Might as well just throw an “RIP PARTY”… haha .. And please don’t get married, we really don’t want you to turn a new bride into a widow.

      • Butcherooni

        Yeah, wont be enough time to do all the things we want in our life or at least we think so, and once we know there’s not much time left you try to make most of it! Anyways, nice post 🙂

  3. sure n every day i think that these 24 hours living is also telling me that I have to make them beneficial for others too so they can also live these hours too. beautifully written again but i was thinking that u will turn the whole story into something related to ur braces n all that but it ended up differently.

    • Haha. I have given up whinning about braces… They hurt they wound they bleed, but no one will know it better than me

Hey Wait!!! Won't You Leave A Comment? *Makes Requesting Puppy Dog Face*

