How To Increase Traffic & Have Better Alexa On Your WordPress BlogPage


Traffic On The Road

Are you an alexa-holic?  Well, I sure am. I keep mouse hover-ing to Alexa icon on my browser to see what my Alexa rank is. For those of you not aware of Alexa. Its a website ranking tool/website that finds out which website is at what number.

Google stands #1 and guess what? I am pretty much close to Google on Alexa. Really. Well just 308K away 😛 😛 :P.

The reason I started the blog with introducing Alexa is because I find most of the WordPress bloggers have Alexa ranking in about 1,000K to 3000K while mine is 308K and trust me, my blog page is not even close as good as theirs. For once I know because of the number of comments and likes they get on each of their post.

If you do not know what your Alexa rank is, just go to Alexa and type in yourblogpagename.wordpress.com.

Today I will be telling my little secrets to increase traffic and have good alexa rank.  

#1. Blog Everyday. 

Now this may seem very obvious  but it helps. The more you blog, the more your blog remains active and brings in more readers.

# 2. Have images and name them. Don't let them hang around namelessly.

I get 70% of the traffic from Google Images. Now, there are little tips that can help you bring the traffic too.

Make sure your image names are related to the image because these image names form image urls and get indexed in Google.

If your image is about a “Frog” but your image name something like “dhgfhdf.jpg”, “image6574.bmp” or “000321fgh.png”, it will get indexed with this same name in Google.

Do you think anyone looking for a frog would type “image6574”???? DUH NO. They will type “FROG” and hence your image will never appear to him and it will never lead him to your blog. BOOOOOOO YOU 😛 😛 😛

After having uploaded an image on wordpress, make sure you give a title. Don’t leave it blank or with rubbish titles.

# 3. Stop treating your blog titles like CRIMINALS. 

Most of you are part of some daily blogging, weekly blogging or image contest (watever that is). So when you write a blog about anything, the title of your blog looks like a criminal jail name. “Blog Day 51”, “Blog Number 245.” 

Now I don’t see any reason why anyone would have any interest to go and see what you have in there. I don’t. I always go to blogs whose title interests me or calls me to read on about it.

So if you are part of it, and naming your blog that way is essential, be creative. Go with something like, “Day 1 Of Blogging – Fell Off A Building But Survived”, “Day 2 Of Blogging – Can’t Go Out, Lost My Only Wig” and so on.

# 4. There is an option to edit "permalinks," USE IT. It's not there for beauty :P  

Permalinks are very important part of INDEXING. They are the keywords with which your blog will get indexed in google. So make sure you remove unnecessary keywords and instead have keywords that will get searches to your blog.

Like a blog permalink “day-1-of-blogging-fell-off-a-building-but-survived” can be changed to “day-1-blogging-fell-off-high-building-survived-crash-luck-images” 

Have as many good keywords as you can which will help people google them and reach your blog.

# 5. It's not bad to interlink your own blogs. Really

When you write a blog and you have something written about it previously or something that relates to it, go ahead and interlink it to your current blog so that your readers can read that too if they want.

# 6 Socialize people, Socialize. 

Don’t be lazy. Socialize your blogs on where ever places your reside online.

And there you have it. With these little tips, you will find a visible chance in your WordPress stats and also in your Alexa Rank.

Adios

Categories: Blogs | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 19 Comments

Post navigation

19 thoughts on “How To Increase Traffic & Have Better Alexa On Your WordPress BlogPage

  1. Great tips …. thank you! I won’t even tell you the number my blog was at on Alexa… LOL

  2. And what’s the use of ‘increasing’ Alexa rank on a free WordPress.com domain?

  3. Good information. I am still in the learning process, so I need all the help I can get! A belated thank you for following my blog. 🙂 Angie

    • Your welcome 🙂 And don’t worry, we are all in the same boat. Learning from others as we walk ahead.

  4. Great tips, thanks! 🙂
    Lol that wig title made me laugh.
    Btw, Shira said I should come check out your blog! Nice to meet ya 🙂

    • Oh thank you and nice to see you here. I hope these tips work for you.

      Shira is a wonderful person, I love her blogs 🙂

  5. Nice tips Aisha. Stop treating your blog titles like CRIMINALS- it made me laugh out loud. Let me tell you that, I was not aware of permalinks. 🙂 So thank you for all these tips with fun. 🙂

    • Yeah most people are not. Just trying to share my knowledge. Specially for those who Criminally have to name their blogs, they can simply change the permalink with keywords to get it indexed in google with correct keywords without having to change the blog name.

      And you are most welcome 🙂 Spread the tips 🙂

  6. My Alexa ranking is decent, but I still learned a lot from your blog! Thank you!

Hey Wait!!! Won't You Leave A Comment? *Makes Requesting Puppy Dog Face*

