Results For Picture Worth Your Words Contest # 2 : Tide Of Time


Sorry folks. I will admit that I have been pretty much a busy bee since past few days. I’l also admit that it is due to the fact that I am one single person trying to do so many things all at one time. And then of course you know that story of the man who puts his leg in two different boats at the same time ( or was it really that sort of story really?)

Anyway, my last contest ended on the 10th of March with pretty much less entries than the one I had before that. But this hasn’t disappointed me because the entries I got made up for everything.

They were all really great and it surprises me how wonderfully talented people can be (although deep down inside they will still insist that they are not great writers πŸ˜› )

So without further ado, the winner of Picture Worth Your Words Contest # 2 : Tide Of Time is,Β 

Tan Tada Tada Da Da Da ( that same sound that plays in Loony Toon Cartoons when it says “That’s all folks” πŸ˜› πŸ˜› :P)

FreedomByTheWayΒ 

Her poem was simple and the simplicity of the words showing deeper depth of meaning is what was fascinating. The poem flowed just like sand in the hourglass, rushing to come to an end. But as the end comes near by, there is still some time left.The shortness of poem silently expressing how life is short.

Congratulations and thank you for giving me the opportunity to read words that have truly affected me.

Please accept my thank you to everyone who was a part of this. Trust me, your poems were as amazing and the source of motivation to keep going with the contests πŸ™‚

Toodles.

Categories: Contest | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “Results For Picture Worth Your Words Contest # 2 : Tide Of Time

  1. AhmadKhalifa

    there are no side awards like last time :D?
    i won one side award πŸ˜€
    can u also announce 2nd and 3rd places ?
    there’s also bronze and silver medals u know πŸ˜€

    i congratulated the winner πŸ™‚ and i hope i will be around for another competition πŸ™‚
    we thank u Ash for letting us discover the best in us and among us and discover us “bloggers” in the first place πŸ™‚

    • Haha.

      No this time no side awards since I was running out of time. I wish I could duplicate myself so each of me could do different work. Lol.

      Btw, you know each time you were just .5 marks behind the winner πŸ™‚

      • AhmadKhalifa

        5 marks behind the winner πŸ˜€ ? that means am second place πŸ˜€ ?
        seems good πŸ˜€
        only if i knew what criteria are u using πŸ˜€
        anyway i will stay tuned for more of ur good contests πŸ™‚
        only try to make the dead line longer, so i can join in πŸ™‚

        • Read again. I didn’t say 5 marks, I said “0.5” marks behind. πŸ™‚

          The only drawback I find is that the type of your poem keeps changing. Like somewhere it will be a freeverse poem, somewhere it will be a rhymed poem. So that breaks the flow of readers when they read your poem.

          Its like music. It should go in a pattern. If you change patterns, it spoils the whole music. So if you are making it rhyme, then have a fixed pattern of rhyme scheme. If you want a mix of freeverse and rhymes, then make a fix pattern.

          All in all it shouldn’t be an adhoc pattern. πŸ™‚

          P.S: This comes from a a person who has done bachelors in English Literature LOL πŸ˜›

          • AhmadKhalifa

            coooooooooooool 0.5 marks :D? and a bachelor in literature :D?
            so i have to make a fixed pattern then so the rhythm wont be broken,,,,like my first poem in the contest, right?
            i guess am still far from being an expert poet πŸ˜€

            next time i might try writing an article πŸ˜€

            • Well you are an amazing poet in yourself so I shall never critique the talents of natural poet that you are.

              Just watch out for the pattern and you’l be good with the flow. Like :

              Little
              Blue flowers
              Over the roof of my room
              Looking past
              The sunset
              Of Each Passing day

              How lonely yet complete
              A pain so sweet

              Calling
              From a distance
              From a far off land
              Waving me goodbye
              more or less
              good riddance

              What a sweet mockery
              That life has showed me

              Do you see a pattern in this? It goes like 6 freeverse, 2 rhymes, 6 freeverse, 2 rhymes. A good flow always has a fixed pattern.

              P.S: Ignore that silly poem. Just wrote watever came to my mind.

              • AhmadKhalifa

                actually it was GOOOD
                yeah i can see a pattern, 6 free verses “without rhyme” then 2 line with rhyme, now i got it
                so the fixed pattern should be like that “not necessarily the same number of lines” but i get the point πŸ™‚

                and who said am an amazing poet πŸ˜€ πŸ˜› ? kidding πŸ™‚ tht’s so nice of u πŸ™‚

                thax a loooooooooot for ur help πŸ™‚

                • yes and not necessarily the same pattern of course. you can have entire poem in freeverse with no rhyme. Or entire poem in rhyme. But whatever that you choose need to be followed all over the poem. πŸ™‚

                  Go forth my child, you have been blessed by the light of Ash πŸ˜›

                  • AhmadKhalifa

                    Thank u great Ash πŸ˜€ u have enlightened me πŸ˜€

  2. Freedom, by the way

    Thank You! You have made my day, my week…possibly my month, althougth there is still time to win $1 million. LOL.
    I hardly ever attempt poetry, usually sticking to features/essays and then, of course, making my $ by marketing copywriting–no poetry in that–just sell, sell, sell.
    Actually, I am honored because the other writers that entered are so talented. I think I got lucky because my muse that day when I wrote it (and dare I admit I wrote it quickly!) was that I was feeling a bit depressed about getting older, all of the things I haven’t accomplished, thinking about my Mom who died a few years ago, blah, blah,blah, and when I saw that photo it just “spoke” to me, where I was at that moment in time.
    But regarding accomplishments, I can now say that I won a writing contest!
    Thank you again, I look forward to the next one!
    And because I’m so happy, I must reblog this. Hope that’s o.k.

    • Okay now I am all mixed emotions.

      I am happy because I can feel your happiness, sad because of what you have been going through and the moment when those pictures nailed you in and confused as to what to say.

      So I will go in with positive good words πŸ™‚

      I am sure looking back at your life there must be so many things you have accomplished ( not the big ones. look for the smaller ones). And then you’l know that what you have not achieved is far less that what you have and I am sure there are so many people who dearly love you ( I am one of them now πŸ™‚ )

      Congrats and good luck.

      • Freedom, by the way

        Thank you for your kind words. It reminds me of that quote that goes something like this:
        “Life is not measured by how much we love but but how much we are loved by others.”

        Thanks for the hug!

  3. Freedom, by the way

    Reblogged this on freedombytheway and commented:
    Shameless patting myself on the back! I won!

Hey Wait!!! Won't You Leave A Comment? *Makes Requesting Puppy Dog Face*

